Mini Quiches- Ham and Red Onion with Balsamic

Standard

IMG_2435

As promised, here is my mini quiche recipe. This recipe has come about because we were given two muffin tins for Christmas; a 12 hole tin and a 6 hole tin. I like muffins but I thought we must be able to make some other things in the tins as well, Adam had the idea to try and make mini quiches and they have been a success.

First off, I don’t try to make my own pastry any more. I have tried a few times in the past but it has never been very good. So for this recipe I use almost a full packet of normal butter puff pastry from the supermarket.

IMG_2415

Dividing the pastry is not an exact science. I have 18 spaces in my trays so I cut the pastry in half, role it a bit using flour so it doesn’t stick to my rolling pin, then keep cutting it down until I have about 18 pieces. Normally there is a bit extra so I just smear the cut off pieces with some pesto and bake them alongside the quiches as an appetiser. I suspect that if we had another 6 hole tray we could probably manage to get 24 mini quiches out of one packet of pastry.

IMG_2419

The pastry does not have to fit the holes perfectly, unless you are a real perfectionist. Just roll it until it is large and thin enough then shape it into the muffin holes and fold the edges until it sort of fits! I have used my pastry brush to lightly oil the muffin holes before adding the pastry, but this is probably not really necessary.

IMG_2421

Once the tins are full you can put them in the fridge until you are ready. Sometimes I prepare them earlier in the day and don’t bake them until the evening, when I need to use the oven for something else.

IMG_2416

The filling can really be whatever you like; in this case I have taken some baked ham (leftovers from Sunday dinner), chopped it up and dropped some into each hole. I then softened some red onion in a pan with some oil for about 15-20mins. At the last minute I added a splash of balsamic vinegar and let it reduce a little. Divide the onion amongst the pastries.

IMG_2426 

I have a fairly casual attitude towards the egg mixture in my mini quiches, I think there is more of a margin for error here than with a large quiche as they are small, so if they do not set perfectly it is not a total disaster. My mix is 4 beaten eggs, 200ml milk, 40g grated cheddar and lots of dried herbs (basil, thyme, oregano). Pour this between the quiches, they only need to be half full- just make sure to cover the ham and onion so they don’t burn.

IMG_2433

Finally bake at 180C (fan oven) for about 15minutes. Keep an eye on them and take them out once they are set and the pastry is turning golden brown. Once you can handle them transfer to a wire rack to cool. You can eat them immediately with a salad or let them cool completely and keep them in the fridge for about 3 days. I usually freeze most of them and defrost overnight before eating them as a packed lunch.

Enjoy!

Emma

IMG_2428

Ingredients (18 mini quiches)

1 packet puff pastry

100g chopped cooked ham (approx.)

1 red onion

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

4 eggs

200ml milk

60g grated cheddar

1 tsp dried herbs (basil, thyme, oregano)

Leave a Reply

