Easy Falafel Burgers

Standard

IMG_2368

I am not ordinarily a big fan of chickpeas. I usually try to avoid eating them in their whole form because I don’t really like the flavour. However I recently bought a bag of them because they are cheap and nutritious so I thought I should try to find a way to enjoy them. Well, this is the best way!

IMG_2330

This recipe is so easy and fast. If you have dried chickpeas then measure about half a cup of them, soak overnight in lots of cold water (they will double in size). If you want to use chickpeas from a tin instead I am sure that would work just as well.

When they are soaked add half a chopped onion and some coriander (I used a frozen ice cube of coriander from my freezer). I believe cumin might be the traditional seasoning but I didn’t have any so I used a mix of nutmeg, chilli powder and turmeric which worked well. Any herbs or spices should probably work. Blitz it all in the blender.

IMG_2334

Once it is blitzed into about this consistency you can shape them into burgers. I imagine you could actually shape them any way you like, if you wanted smaller pieces for a salad or something. Try to compact them because my only criticism of this recipe is that the burgers crumble easily. You can leave them to dry a bit for half an hour or so if you have extra time or you could prepare them in advance and leave them in the fridge.

IMG_2339

Then you can fry them! You have to be careful sliding the burgers onto your frying pan so they don’t fall apart. One word of warning- they will soak up as much oil as you put on the pan!

I could hardly believe that the chickpeas did not have to be pre-cooked for this recipe but it is true. Just soak, blitz, shape and fry. How easy is that?

Serve on a bun with hummus and fried onions or with a side salad!

Enjoy!

Emma

IMG_2363

Ingredients (makes 2 burgers)

Half cup dried chickpeas

½ a chopped onion

1 handful fresh coriander

1 tsp spice (eg. cumin)

Leave a Reply

