Baileys Chocolate Cheesecake

Standard

IMG_2403

I have been meaning to try this recipe for ages. I have had it bookmarked for months and regularly gazed at it longingly. Well, yesterday we had guests so I decided it was the right opportunity to give this cheesecake a whirl. I believe it was a success!

Because cheesecake does not need to be baked in the oven (this side of the Atlantic at least) it is actually quite a convenient thing to ‘bake’ when you have guests. I made this one in pieces over the course of the day, fitting it in around all the other things I had to do yesterday.

IMG_2386

First off is the most fun job- bashing up half a packet of digestive biscuits in a plastic bag with a rolling pin! The biscuits are added to a pan of melted butter and then compressed into the base of the tin. I deliberately did not bash my biscuits into a fine pulp because I thought it might be nice to leave a few larger lumps. I think this was a mistake. So, I suggest you bash them up properly! The base goes into the fridge to ‘set’ for an hour at least.

IMG_2326

Next is the most tedious task of the lot- you have to grate 100g of chocolate. This is not really a fun job, it takes ages and the chocolate wants to melt. Plus it just gets everywhere. Whilst grating it I considered that maybe the cake could live without chocolate but having now finished and consumed some of it I have changed my mind about that. Grate the chocolate, it is worth it in the end!

IMG_2346

Next I learnt the truth about how unhealthy cheesecake really is! Heh heh! 600g of cream cheese is a lot, plus a big packet of double cream, 100g icing sugar (the recipe called for 100ml but this seems to be a typo and it should be 100g). sometimes it is good to make your own food just to see exactly how much ‘bad’ stuff goes in there! I am not saying that people should not eat cake or sweets, but it is a good deterrent when you are considering having seconds or thirds! By the way I obviously doubled the amount of Baileys called for in the recipe and I would suggest you could even double it again. Look how yummy it looks mixing into the cream cheese.

IMG_2371

So you have already beaten the cream cheese, icing sugar and baileys together. Now fold in the whipped cream and grated chocolate then pour onto the base. Refrigerate for a couple of hours, carefully remove the tin and serve!

IMG_2374

This cake was so tasty and even though it is a bit finnicky to make it is not actually difficult so it is a good cake for entertaining. I bought half fat cream cheese out of habit and worried it might not be thick enough. After a few hours out of the tin the whole cake was sagging a little but not that badly really so I think it was an acceptable substitution.

IMG_2379

Mmm, looking at all these pictures of it is making me want another slice now…

Enjoy!

Original recipe here.

IMG_2399

One response »

  1. Pingback: No Bake Tiffin with Mixed Fruit «

Leave a Reply

